Thinking about numbers…

75

97

That’s how many people attended during the last two Easter Sundays.

Most in church leadership circles call Easter Sunday the church’s “Super Bowl.” Although the resurrection of Jesus Christ is much more significant than a Super Bowl game (and I love watching the Super Bowl, for the record), I understand the point behind that statement. If someone who doesn’t watch football is going to watch a game, it’s going to be the big one. In the same way, if someone who doesn’t go to church is going to visit, the odds are that person is going to come to a church’s Easter service (Christmas services are a close second, by the way).

As I’ve been turning my thoughts towards Easter (it’s late this year – April 24. Mark your calendars!), I’ve begun to have a number pop in my head over and over again. It’s the number of people I believe we can have in attendance that morning. There’s nothing magic about the numbers. But each number represents a person – a person loved by God Himself. And He wants us to share that love with others! What an amazing opportunity!

I don’t want to share the number yet. Because I want to know what you think. How many people do you believe will attend this year’s Easter service? Are you willing to take the effort to reach that number? Eternity hangs in the balance for our neighbors and friends. Let’s stand in the gap and push back against the darkness with the victorious power of the love of Jesus Christ!

How many do you believe will attend the Easter Sunday service?

About mattdantodd

Howdy! I'm Matt. My wife and I have three kids, a dog, and a guinea pig. We adopted our youngest daughter is from Ethiopia. We're definitely not opposed to adopting again. I'm a die-hard fan of the Evansville Aces and the Indiana Hoosiers. What else do you need to know? You're welcome to... Follow me on twitter at @mattdantodd Like my Facebook page Subscribe to my YouTube channel
This entry was posted in following Jesus, Gospel, Ministry, missions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts? Insights? Questions? Feel free to add to the conversation...